Home

Who was the "football expert" that helped with the design of player logic?

This is a discussion on Who was the "football expert" that helped with the design of player logic? within the Madden NFL Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?
Closed Thread

Old 09-27-2018, 12:16 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Angry Who was the "football expert" that helped with the design of player logic?

Based on the way this game plays in regards to actual football technique, I am pretty sure the person that was their football expert during development must have been a Pop Warner coach who's son is the starting QB. As a collegiate football coach myself, I would like to present some of the basics of the game that Madden just can't seem to get correct:

1) Offensive Line Play - Supposed professional players can't even block an inside zone scheme properly. The double team is never executed properly and the release to the linebacker is 85% of the time done incorrectly. The developers gave us as players offensive line play that is not even close to being fundamentally sound. Inside zone is just the tip of the iceberg, though, as the pass protection schemes are even worse when trying to use actual football fundamentals. This is a horrible, horrible design by the devs and something they have been promising to improve upon since 2007.