Home

I'm no pro basketball player, but don't you need strength for paint defense/rebound?

This is a discussion on I'm no pro basketball player, but don't you need strength for paint defense/rebound? within the NBA 2K Basketball forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 02-26-2021, 10:49 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
I'm no pro basketball player, but don't you need strength for paint defense/rebound?

What sense does it make for 6'7 power forwards to be weak as a child, yet play effective paint defense, box you out, and grab rebounds?
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 02-27-2021, 12:12 AM   #2
MVP

OVR: 4
Re: I'm no pro basketball player, but don't you need strength for paint defense/rebou

Dennis Rodman?

You'll be surprised what outworking others can get you.
Old 02-27-2021, 02:48 AM   #3
MVP

tru11's Arena

Re: I'm no pro basketball player, but don't you need strength for paint defense/rebou

Rodman was pretty strong.

Very physical player and certainly not the finesse type.

Sent from my iPhone using Operation Sports
Old 02-28-2021, 07:25 PM   #4
Pro

BlackLightning3's Arena

OVR: 2

There are other things that matter besides strength. Agility, reaction time, anticipation, and positioning can determine who gets a rebound. I'm 6'2" and usually the most athletic, but weakest in terms of pure weightlifting strenght people on the court. Everytime I play I get the most rebounds by far, because I 'm not just standing under the goal trying to box out big men by pushing them. If they don't body me up I can outjump them or spin around them then outjump them. Also anticipating where the rebound will bounce based on the shot arc and direction helps.
Old 02-28-2021, 09:06 PM   #5
All Star

ksuttonjr76's Arena

Quote:
Originally Posted by tru11