Madden NFL 13 News Post

Fan Voting Continues to Determine Who Will Become This Year’s Cover Athlete

REDWOOD CITY, Calif., - March 21, 2012 – Electronic Arts Inc. (NASDAQ:EA) and ESPN announced today the 32 fan-selected NFL players who will advance in the EA SPORTS™ Madden NFL 13 Cover Vote. The announcement follows a two week play-in round, during which time fans voted between two teammates in matchups for each NFL team on the SportsNation Facebook page. Today, winners from each matchup moved on to the official cover vote bracket. Fans can vote for their favorite cover athlete candidate from their computer or mobile phones at ESPN.com/MaddenVote through April 25.

To kick off the Madden NFL 13 Cover Vote bracket debate, a SportsNation “Madden Cover Vote Special” will air tonight on ESPN 2 from 6-7 p.m. ET. Every Wednesday throughout the campaign, fans can tune in to SportsNation at 5 p.m. ET for an in-depth discussion about the latest voting results and to see which players have advanced to the next round. The tournament will culminate with the reveal of the Madden NFL 13 cover athlete on SportsNation on April 25, the night before the 2012 NFL Draft.

The results of the Madden NFL 13 Cover Vote play-in round are:

Arizona Cardinals - Larry Fitzgerald
Miami Dolphins - Reggie Bush
Atlanta Falcons - Matt Ryan
Minnesota Vikings - Jared Allen
Baltimore Ravens - Ray Rice
New England Patriots - Rob Gronkowski
Buffalo Bills - Stevie Johnson
New England Patriots - Brandon Lloyd*
Carolina Panthers - Cam Newton
New Orleans Saints - Drew Brees
Chicago Bears - Matt Forte
New York Giants - Victor Cruz
Cincinnati Bengals - A.J. Green
New York Jets - Darrelle Revis
Cleveland Browns - Joe Haden
Oakland Raiders - Sebastian Janikowski
Dallas Cowboys - DeMarcus Ware
Philadelphia Eagles - LeSean McCoy
Denver Broncos - Tim Tebow
Pittsburgh Steelers - Troy Polamalu
Detroit Lions - Calvin Johnson
San Diego Chargers - Antonio Gates
Green Bay Packers - Aaron Rodgers
San Francisco 49ers - Patrick Willis
Houston Texans - Arian Foster
Seattle Seahawks - Marshawn Lynch
Indianapolis Colts - Dwight Freeney
Tampa Bay Buccaneers - LeGarrette Blount
Jacksonville Jaguars - Maurice Jones-Drew
Tennessee Titans - Chris Johnson
Kansas City Chiefs - Dwayne Bowe
Washington Redskins - Brian Orakpo

*Entered the Madden NFL 13 Cover Vote play-in round representing the St. Louis Rams.

Among the 32 players are past Super Bowl winners including Victor Cruz and Aaron Rodgers; perennial Pro Bowl players Larry Fitzgerald and Drew Brees; and some of the most dominant players in the NFL such as Troy Polamalu and Jared Allen. During the first ever play-in round, fan voting resulted in upsets like LeSean McCoy surpassing Michael Vick who was a finalist in last year’s award-winning Madden NFL 12 Cover Vote competition.

“Every football fan has an opinion on who should be on the Madden NFL cover, which was highly visible given the overwhelming response and debate that ensued during last year’s campaign. We’re proud to once again put the fate of the game’s cover in our fans’ hands and let them decide who is worthy of becoming the Madden NFL 13 cover athlete,” said director of marketing Anthony Stevenson. “Our collaboration with ESPN and SportsNation helped elevate the campaign to new heights last year and we’re thrilled to team up again on this award-winning program.”

“Sports fans are embracing the new structure of the Madden NFL 13 cover vote and the response has been tremendous for the play-in round, which gives each team’s fans an increased voice in the player selected for the vote,” said Jamie Horowitz, Vice President, Original Programming and Production, ESPN. “SportsNation has the most engaged social audience across the ESPN network, and enabling them to share their votes across Facebook was an ideal way to tap into some of football’s most passionate fans.”

The Madden NFL 13 cover vote marks the third-consecutive year that EA SPORTS has asked fans to help shape the face of the Madden NFL franchise through a cover athlete voting campaign. It also marks the second year of its collaboration with ESPN and SportsNation. Last year, nearly 13 million votes were logged through ESPNSportsNation.com online and via the mobile web, the most ever for an ESPN cross-platform activation, which witnessed 10th seeded Peyton Hillis (Browns, RB) winning the honor to grace the cover of Madden NFL 12.

To ensure their favorite player advances to the next round of this year’s competition, fans are encouraged to vote daily and tweet their picks using #MyMaddenCoverVote on Twitter. Beginning March 22 at 9:00 a.m. ET, fans can also visit the Madden NFL Facebook page to fill out their own Madden NFL 13 cover athlete bracket to compete against their friends for the chance to win Super Bowl tickets and copies of Madden NFL 13. Visit www.facebook.com/EASPORTSMaddenNFL for Official Rules.

Game: Madden NFL 13Reader Score: 6/10 - Vote Now
Platform: PS3 / Wii U / Xbox 360Votes for game: 77 - View All
Madden NFL 13 Videos
Member Comments
# 21 jyoung @ 03/22/12 10:27 AM


# 22 GlennN @ 03/22/12 11:34 AM
Originally Posted by jaymee13
You do know that this is from the marketing department and has nothing to do with the development team. None of this will affect the game.
I respectfully disagree. Different folks and different departments, yes. But, the game has a specific budget. They are allocating dollars to the marketing folks that could be better spent elsewhere.
# 23 PackerBacker123 @ 03/22/12 05:13 PM

jets are a circus.
# 24 kjcheezhead @ 03/22/12 05:27 PM
Janikowski/Tebow finals would be epic.
# 25 AndyAndAj32 @ 03/22/12 05:31 PM
Lets get the Kicker vs. Back-up QB final.
# 26 foote92 @ 03/22/12 06:50 PM
Victor Cruz doing the salsa dance on the cover is what needs to happen, or Janikowski cuz that would be funny
# 27 Flithy @ 03/22/12 07:32 PM
Isn't Tebow the second Jets rep now.
# 28 voodoo_magic @ 03/22/12 07:51 PM
Of course with EA if Tebow or Janikowski were to "win" they would just say Cam Newton won or something.
# 29 PackerBacker123 @ 03/22/12 10:41 PM
Originally Posted by voodoo_magic
Of course with EA if Tebow or Janikowski were to "win" they would just say Cam Newton won or something.
you are completely right!
# 30 dtotheb86 @ 03/24/12 02:14 AM
Hmm whoever it is better watch out for the curse....
# 31 econoodle @ 03/24/12 11:25 AM
Lets Go Aaron *clap clap clapclapclap*
Curse or not.....
# 32 J.R. @ 03/24/12 11:58 AM
Vote for all the matchup's guys, if you can. Voted for Janikowski btw.
# 33 kjcheezhead @ 03/24/12 01:14 PM
Originally Posted by J.R.
Vote for all the matchup's guys, if you can. Voted for Janikowski btw.
Why do you want people to vote all the matchups? I wanna see Tebow, Janikowski or a defensive player on the cover so I only bothered voting on thier brackets.
# 34 Shinyhubcaps @ 03/25/12 11:44 AM
Originally Posted by gillbilly12
Vick and Hillis were already the final two before the show....
No, they were on promoting the bracket before any of the voting even opened, too.

« Previous 12Next »

Post A Comment
Only OS members can post comments
Please login or register to post a comment.