Home
K-1 World Grand Prix REVIEW

K-1 World Grand Prix Review (PS2)

OVERVIEW
“K-1 World Grand Prix” is the latest entry into the fighting market; aimed more towards the sporting side as opposed to the outlandish side. Konami has taken the actual K1 circuit and given the gamer 20 actual fighters to choose from. I knew a little bit about K1 from the start, but as I started playing this, I also started noticing the K1 commercials for an upcoming pay-per-view event from my local cable company. The biggest thing that grasped my attention was that there were no American fighters (at least being represented by the U.S. Flag) in the title. That in itself brought to my attention the initial problem with this game - in the American market, it could be a hard sell when there are no American fighters in the game. Read on to find out what I thought about this game. In the end you might be as surprised as I was after spending some time with this one.

GRAPHICS
The graphics in K1 initially surprised me, especially when I saw some of the real-life counterparts. A few of the fighters resemble the real thing in extreme detail. There were also a couple times when I wondered what they were thinking after I saw the real person. Overall, I was pleased since the fighters look extremely good. During the matches, there is a slowdown blurring effect when a solid punch is landed. I liked how this was implemented and it helps sell the stronger moves really well.

The animations of the fighters are smooth, fluid, and they sell the punches and kicks very well. The more I played, the more I appreciated the animations. There were some minor glitches, but there were very few of these and did not affect the gameplay whatsoever. The frame rate also stayed very consistent and I did not ever notice any type of frame drop, even in the situations where there were flurries of punches and kicks being traded by each fighter.