Home
Feature Article
MLB 14 The Show: The Best New Acquisitions (AL)

As the 2014 season kicks off, let's take a look at the best newcomers for each American League team. In this list you'll find the most important addition to every team in the American League, whether it be by trade or free agent signing. Now that you know what's in this piece, let's PLAY BALL!

AL EAST

Baltimore OriolesP Ubaldo Jimenez - The O's had a busy off-season, but no move was better than the signing of Ubaldo Jimenez. Jimenez finished 2013 as one of the best starters in the league and he still has Ace-quality stuff. Putting him at the top of a young rotation was a great move for 2014 and the future.

Boston Red SoxOF Grady Sizemore – I'm going a bit off the board here to pick Sizemore over A.J. Pierzynski and Edward Mujica. Sizemore last played in the bigs in 2011, but so far in Spring Training, he's done everything possible to become the starting center fielder for the defending World Champs. Sizemore has been called “Jacoby Ellsbury before there was a Jacoby Ellsbury” and the BoSox might have struck gold with Sizemore's 1 yr, $750,000 deal.

New York YankeesOF Carlos Beltran – While the Yankees made more splashy moves this off-season like Masahiro Tanaka and Brian McCann, no move was better than the signing of Carlos Beltran to a three-year deal. Moving to the AL and coming off of three healthy seasons, Beltran should be able to consistently produce for the Yanks even after his range in the outfield diminishes. Beltran makes up the heart of the 2014 Yankees batting order.

Tampa Bay RaysP Grant Balfour – Tampa Bay signed one of the most reliable relief pitchers in all of baseball and are only paying him $6 million per year, a bargain in today's salary landscape. Balfour replaces the inconsistent Fernando Rodney for 2014. The addition of Balfour helps to stabilize a Rays bullpen that has some question marks in 2014.