Home
Feature Article
MLB The Show: More Improvement Still Needed With Franchise Mode Menus

Let’s just get one thing out of the way: the menus in MLB 14 The Show’s franchise definitely went in the right direction from where things were previously.

I honestly just wanted to sound positive before this next paragraph which will sound less than positive.

The menus in MLB 14 The Show’s franchise mode menus are still some of the most poorly organized user interfaces you can find. Want to know how many years you have left with your all-star pitcher? That’s about 3-4 button pushes away on average from the main home screen in franchise mode. Want to know who is leading your team in batting average? That’s really not as easy to find out as it should be.

Granted, I’m also a student of Out of the Park Baseball, perhaps you’ve heard of it?

My standards for virtually manning a baseball GM seat are quite high, but that's the problem when you play in the same market with such a good game at what it does.

Good menu systems and managing a franchise are two things which I just come to expect, so I do have high expectations for what a console game can achieve. I do expect a franchise mode to convey the very most important things to running my franchise right in front of me as well as giving me enough information about the world I exist in digitally to suck me into it.

Here is the problem with the menus in MLB 14 The Show: They have too many layers of depth and there simply isn’t enough information given to you readily on the screens which matters most.

On the lineup screen, all you get is an overall rating for each player. You don’t get their key stats, you don’t get stats on how they hit against a certain handedness of pitching, you simply get an overall rating which tells you nothing about the players power, contact hitting, or speed — three key things you’d like to know at the very least while building a lineup.