PDA

View Full Version : is this a new email scam?


bionicgrov03
11-19-2003, 09:29 AM
I just opened my email inbox and saw this. It looks kinda shady.

____________________________________________________

Make all your federal tax payments the easy way. Enroll in EFTPS.

Visit eftps.gov by clicking here:
http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.cfm?U=7909931&L=78093

Check out the new features of EFTPS-OnLine Electronic Federal Tax Payment System.

EFTPS is the fast, accurate, and easy payment system provided FREE by the U.S. Department of Treasury for business and individual taxpayers to pay taxes online (http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.cfm?U=7909931&L=78093) or by phone.

The new online application features
+ 16 months of tax payment history
+ Make multiple payments without logging out
+ Schedule all 4 quarterly estimated payments in advance
+ Links to state payment sites
+ Change bank account information without completing a new enrollment
+ And more.

Once you are enrolled, you can make your payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, from office or home, by Internet or phone.

To enroll, go to eftps.gov by clicking here: http://caymans.bigresponse.net/T/r.cfm?U=7909931&L=78093

All you need is your taxpayer identification number (EIN or SSN) and your banking information. It will take you about 5 minutes to complete the information online, and then you will receive a PIN by mail within 7-10 days along with instructions for obtaining your Internet Password.


The following message was sent to you as a permission-based subscriber to RB Express or one of our marketing partners. We will continue to bring you valuable offers on the products and services that interest you most.
If you wish to unsubscribe please email [email protected] with your email address in the subject line.

You are subscribed as: [email protected].

To unsubscribe by postal mail, please send your request to:

1158 26th St.
Suite 597
Santa Monica, CA 90403

___________________________________________________


All we need is your SSN or EID #? I hope nobody falls for that.


Thoughts anyone?

QuikSand
11-19-2003, 09:32 AM
is this a new email scam?



website that starts with "caymans..."


I think it's safe to declare this a scam.

Huckleberry
11-19-2003, 09:34 AM
Wow. They tell you to reach a government website by clicking on a link to their scam site. These guys get dirtier and dirtier every day.

But since it's out there anyway, I suggest you give it a test run. ;)

Huckleberry
11-19-2003, 09:38 AM
Hey wait a second. That site does indeed forward you to a .gov site. Looks legit. You should join immediately.

Two Thirds Rectal Trout
11-19-2003, 09:46 AM
I'm a programmer in a trust department. EFTPS IS a legitimate system to pay estimated taxes to the IRS. We have monthly transmissions that go out and gather up enrollements and payments so, I'm familiar with this somewhat..

Now... whether or not THIS particular place is legit.. not sure.

Joe Canadian
11-19-2003, 09:57 AM
Seems interesting that their e-mail address is a hotmail one...

Ksyrup
11-19-2003, 09:57 AM
On a somewhat related note, I've ben using pop-up stopper for the past 6 months. According to our IT people, it now appears that I downloaded a "rigged" version that actually imbeds viruses, ads and crap like that on the computer, while still blocking regular pop ups. Some ad company apparently took pop up stopper, added a bunch of crap to it, and put it up on a site that looks like an official site, so that morons like me would download it.

Just a warning for those of you who use, or are considering using, pop up stopper. It looks like I'm going to have to get my hard drive re-imaged.

QuikSand
11-19-2003, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by Joe Canadian
Seems interesting that their e-mail address is a hotmail one...

I think that was the receipient's address... but you're Canadian, so what the heck do you care?