Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Archives > FOFC Archive
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 09-30-2007, 07:43 PM   #1
Marc Vaughan
SI Games

Science Projects for a 13 year old girl

Hi,

As most of you know I'm new to America and am in the novel situation of having to help my daughter on an 'extra credit' science project to under take - I have no idea whats acceptable as far as such things go or what level of complexity is expected with either the experiment or the write up.

Current ideas are very "boy toy" (ie. things I've enjoy doing myself):

* Building and launching a rocket
* Writing a simple 'space lander' computer game to demonstrate the effect of various aspects of physics.

Both of these Haley could handle (I'd obviously 'help' a little with the computer game - but would leave the plumbing and understanding of the majority of the equations up to her - she's a bright kid).

What I don't know is 'would these be acceptable?' and 'how much help is a parent allowed to give?' ...

Err help .... I've tried asking the teacher involved and recieved pretty much a shrug of the shoulders in that "you should know" sort of way ...

(and yes I am open to suggestions the ones above are just those which I've come up with off the top of my head - however I'm more than happy to hear other peoples suggestions, not least because perhaps one of them will be of more excitment to Haley*)

*Haley is very bright, likes animals and wants to work with them when she's older. She loves computers and computer games (although not FM ).

Last edited by Marc Vaughan : 09-30-2007 at 07:46 PM.
Marc Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 07:48 PM   #2
molson
General Manager

I think building a rocket would be a big hit with that age-group.

Writing a computer game wouldn't go over so well.