Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Dynasty Reports
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 11-16-2007, 04:59 PM   #1
sabotai
General Manager

EU3: The Kingdom of Aragon

I recently started playing EU3 again. After playing through a few campaigns as nations I was familiar with (Portugal, Japan and Bavaria), I decided to start up with a nation I have not played before. I was thinking of playing as a 1 province nation, like Anxiety did with Naxos, but instead decided to go with a "power", but one that was threatened by at least one nation that was a far greater power.

I went with Aragon, a nation on the Iberian Peninsula that is sandwiched between Castille and France. Aragon starts with 6 provinces on the main land and several islands (The Baleares, Sardinia, Malta and the island shared by Palermo and Mallina).

There are several challenges in playing as Aragon.

One is that it's a little difficult to defend so many islands. If I get into a war with anyone of any power, I either need to station at least one regiment on every island to help defend it, or have a huge navy that will prevent any tranports from getting there. It helps that the AI does tend to ignore the islands and will prioritize defense and going after mainland provinces first. However, in several play throughs with Portugal, if they can't get to your mainland provinces, they will go after your islands.

Another is France and Castille. There isn't much room to expand your mainland territory. There are a few 1 province nations around Aragon at the start of the game, but all but 1 (Navarra) is a vassel of France. So other than annexing Navarra, you have to war with Castille or France to expand your mainland territory, and both of them are far richer and much more powerful than you are at the start.