Front Office Football Central  

Go Back   Front Office Football Central > Main Forums > Off Topic
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read Statistics

Old 01-24-2017, 10:21 AM   #1
Umbrella
High School Varsity

Alright Boyz, here we go!! World Boxing Manager

I know this board loves its sports management games, so here's a thread about a new one I just picked up for $5. I haven't had it long, so I'm not an expert by any means, but here are my thoughts so far.

You start out as the manager of a pretty pathetic gym, no fighters, no trainers, and a measly $7500. You don't get to choose your fighters. As the game goes on, within a few days students will start showing up at your gym. It's up to you to decide if you want to keep them or not. Higher reputation gyms attract better students, so at the start, you get the dregs.

Students serve a few purposes. One, they bring in a very small amount of money in fees to work out at your gym. Two, if any of them look promising, you can promote them to a professional fighter. More on that in a bit. And finally, they make good sparring partners.

At the start, your gym is tiny, so it can only support three students, one professional (which I think is called a fighter), and one trainer. You can upgrade, but it costs quite a bit of money. I believe it is $20K for the first upgrade, which I haven't got to yet. Students and fighters have different styles. They can be boxers, sluggers, counter punchers, etc. There is a rock-paper-scissors approach to this. It isn't mentioned in the help file anywhere, but on the progress day screen, there are tips which say which style is good or poor against others.