Rule Guru's, have a question.

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • WTF
    MVP
    • Aug 2002
    • 20274

    #1

    Rule Guru's, have a question.

    Alright, Scottd and I are wondering (from the "Little Things" thread in SCEA forum), in this situation, what is the verdict:

    Okay, runners on 1B and 3B, 1 out.

    Batter hits a dribbler to 2nd. 2nd baseman picks up the ball, and throws it to the SS covering 2nd for 1 out...

    The runner crosses home plate.

    SS throws the ball to 1st for the 2nd out of the double play, 3rd out of the inning.

    Does the runner who crossed home, count as a run since he crossed before the double play was finished?
    Twitter - WTF_OS
    #DropMeAFollow
  • TheMatrix31
    RF
    • Jul 2002
    • 52919

    #2
    Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

    Absolutely. I saw this at the Dodger game I went to on Wednesday night. As long as the run crosses before the last out is made, it counts.

    Comment

    • WTF
      MVP
      • Aug 2002
      • 20274

      #3
      Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

      That's what I was thinking. Thanks for the clarification. Happened in the last game for me. I won
      Twitter - WTF_OS
      #DropMeAFollow

      Comment

      • DrJones
        All Star
        • Mar 2003
        • 9109

        #4
        Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

        Originally posted by WTF
        Alright, Scottd and I are wondering (from the "Little Things" thread in SCEA forum), in this situation, what is the verdict:

        Okay, runners on 1B and 3B, 1 out.

        Batter hits a dribbler to 2nd. 2nd baseman picks up the ball, and throws it to the SS covering 2nd for 1 out...

        The runner crosses home plate.

        SS throws the ball to 1st for the 2nd out of the double play, 3rd out of the inning.

        Does the runner who crossed home, count as a run since he crossed before the double play was finished?
        The run does NOT count in the situation you describe, because the third out was a force. If the third out is not a force (ie, a runner is tagged), then the run counts if the runner crosses home plate before the third out is recorded.
        Originally posted by Thrash13
        Dr. Jones was right in stating that. We should have believed him.
        Originally posted by slickdtc
        DrJones brings the stinky cheese is what we've all learned from this debacle.
        Originally posted by Kipnis22
        yes your fantasy world when your proven wrong about 95% of your post

        Comment

        • DrJones
          All Star
          • Mar 2003
          • 9109

          #5
          Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

          Originally posted by TheMatrix31
          Absolutely. I saw this at the Dodger game I went to on Wednesday night. As long as the run crosses before the last out is made, it counts.
          Nope, not on force plays.
          Originally posted by Thrash13
          Dr. Jones was right in stating that. We should have believed him.
          Originally posted by slickdtc
          DrJones brings the stinky cheese is what we've all learned from this debacle.
          Originally posted by Kipnis22
          yes your fantasy world when your proven wrong about 95% of your post

          Comment

          • BGarrett7
            All Star
            • Jul 2003
            • 5890

            #6
            Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

            The Good Doc is exactly right.

            Comment

            • WTF
              MVP
              • Aug 2002
              • 20274

              #7
              Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

              I've searched everywhere I could think of, and I can't find the rule that applies to this situation. I'm almost positive that the run counts, as I've seen it before as well...
              Twitter - WTF_OS
              #DropMeAFollow

              Comment

              • Brandon13
                All Star
                • Oct 2005
                • 8915

                #8
                Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                Nope, doesn't count because as others have said the play at first is a force out.

                Comment

                • WTF
                  MVP
                  • Aug 2002
                  • 20274

                  #9
                  Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                  Hmmmm... maybe there were no outs in my game then? Who knows. I won... that's all that matters, lol.
                  Twitter - WTF_OS
                  #DropMeAFollow

                  Comment

                  • Scottdau
                    Banned
                    • Feb 2003
                    • 32580

                    #10
                    Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                    Thank you, I felt like I was going crazy! lol Yeah you won, but the AI is some what questionable. lol Any ways glad you are having fun with the game. I am thinking about getting a PS3, but I want to get a HDTV for the bedroom. So I am thinking!!!!
                    Last edited by Scottdau; 06-17-2007, 08:58 PM.

                    Comment

                    • dkgojackets
                      Banned
                      • Mar 2005
                      • 13816

                      #11
                      Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                      Originally posted by TheMatrix31
                      Absolutely. I saw this at the Dodger game I went to on Wednesday night. As long as the run crosses before the last out is made, it counts.
                      False.

                      Originally posted by DrJones
                      The run does NOT count in the situation you describe, because the third out was a force. If the third out is not a force (ie, a runner is tagged), then the run counts if the runner crosses home plate before the third out is recorded.
                      Fact.

                      Comment

                      • jmw1137
                        *t's g*nn* b* L*g*nd*ry
                        • Mar 2003
                        • 1119

                        #12
                        Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                        There's no way the run scores...it's a force so of course the run doesn't score.

                        Comment

                        • Scottdau
                          Banned
                          • Feb 2003
                          • 32580

                          #13
                          Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                          So I guess the show has it wrong, unless there was no outs. But wouldn't the AI throw it home then.

                          Comment

                          • Brandon13
                            All Star
                            • Oct 2005
                            • 8915

                            #14
                            Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                            I got this directly from the MLB rulebook:

                            A FORCE PLAY is a play in which a runner legally loses his right to occupy a base by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
                            Rule 2.00 (Force Play) Comment: Confusion regarding this play is removed by remembering that frequently the “force” situation is removed during the play. Example: Man on first, one out, ball hit sharply to first baseman who touches the bag and batter-runner is out. The force is removed at that moment and runner advancing to second must be tagged. If there had been a runner on third or second, and either of these runners scored before the tag-out at second, the run counts. Had the first baseman thrown to second and the ball then had been returned to first, the play at second was a force out, making two outs, and the return throw to first ahead of the runner would have made three outs. In that case, no run would score.
                            Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter flies out. Two out. Runner on third tags up and scores. Runner on first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in umpire’s judgment, the runner from third touched home before the ball was held at first base, the run counts.

                            Comment

                            • TheMatrix31
                              RF
                              • Jul 2002
                              • 52919

                              #15
                              Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

                              Well then, throw some egg on my face! I can't remember the force situation during the game I was at, I just remembered that to be the case. Hmm.

                              Comment

                              Working...