Question about rules.
Collapse
Recommended Videos
Collapse
X
-
Question about rules.
If a batter hits a pop fly that is in foul territory (close to the line) and the ball hits off of the player's glove of body and lands in fair territory, what is the ruling? If anyone can show me the official rule on that I would appreciate it. I looked everywhere but can't find it.Tags: None -
Re: Question about rules.
What if the player has one foot in foul territory and one foot in fair territory?Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
Bigger question... is it an error?
(I know the answer to this question, and there is an exception to the scoring as well)
EDIT: Should've given a definite answer to the initial question. Draw a straight line down to the field where the ball first strikes an object, be it a player or the ground. If in foul territory, it's foul and fair/fair. The umpire just has to be a good judge. The only reason the player's position on the field would matter is if they have any feet out of play, like over the fence for whatever reason... in which case may result in a foul ball call as opposed to an out.Last edited by Blzer; 02-24-2009, 08:11 PM.Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / SVS SB-2000 / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Audio-Technica ATH-R70x / Sony PS3 & PS4 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 / Panamax M5400-PM / Elgato HD60Comment
-
Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
Shouldn't be if foul. An error would account for a base runner instead of a hit or a walk. In the case of a foul ball, there is no base runner..... unless you're saying that this is the exception and you have both a foul ball (no base runner) AND an error.Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
edit: Just looked it up:
The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder:
(1) whose misplay (fumble, muff or wild throw) prolongs the time at bat of a batter, prolongs the presence on the bases of a runner or permits a runner to advance one or more bases, unless, in the judgment of the official scorer, such fielder deliberately permits a foul fly to fall safe with a runner on third base before two are out in order that the runner on third shall not score after the catch;Last edited by kehlis; 02-24-2009, 09:30 PM.Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
So if that batter gets on base with a legit base hit and scores, it's not an earned run b/c he could have been out previously? Makes sense. Also, when I typed the above I wasn't thinking that technically they'd have to make a ruling on the ball because a base runner on 3rd could tag up and score, no?Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
But yeah, an exception (and valid one) is if say it's a tie game and bottom 9 with a runner on third. A far foul fly if caught with less than two outs is the stupidest action to perform in that situation, for the runner would score and the other team would win. Deliberately letting that fall is not an error; it is otherwise.Samsung PN60F8500 PDP / Anthem MRX 720 / Klipsch RC-62 II / Klipsch RF-82 II (x2) / Insignia NS-B2111 (x2) / SVS PC13-Ultra / SVS SB-2000 / Sony MDR-7506 Professional / Audio-Technica ATH-R70x / Sony PS3 & PS4 / DirecTV HR44-500 / DarbeeVision DVP-5000 / Panamax M5400-PM / Elgato HD60Comment
-
Re: Question about rules.
Well, I guess going to the official book can get you the answer too.
But yeah, an exception (and valid one) is if say it's a tie game and bottom 9 with a runner on third. A far foul fly if caught with less than two outs is the stupidest action to perform in that situation, for the runner would score and the other team would win. Deliberately letting that fall is not an error; it is otherwise.
But I will admit that I would not have thought of that exception had I not looked it up. However, if I was scoring a game I don't think I would have ruled it an error in that situation anyway, but now I know I would have been right!Comment
Comment