Home

Anyone else taking a LOT more walks vs the CPU?

This is a discussion on Anyone else taking a LOT more walks vs the CPU? within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 04-03-2020, 03:19 PM   #1
MVP

Unlucky 13's Arena

OVR: 4

I've been playing The Show since 2010, and have logged who knows how many thousands of games played. I focus strongly on working the count and driving up the pitch count of the CPU pitchers. However, before this year, I rarely was ever to take many walks. If I got two a game, that was a big win. Sometimes, I'd go a week without taking one, because once the CPU pitchers got to three balls, then everything else was in the strike zone.

That has changed in a MAJOR way this year for me. With about 40 games played, I'm averaging four to five walks per game, and just had one where I took TEN (while only getting five hits). The biggest change is that the CPU pitchers will now seemingly throw balls outside the strike zone at about the same frequency regardless of the count.

Is anyone else noticing this? I play at Veteran Plus difficulty, with sliders set slightly in my favor, as I have for years.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 04-03-2020, 05:48 PM   #2
Rookie

Re: Anyone else taking a LOT more walks vs the CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unlucky 13
I've been playing The Show since 2010, and have logged who knows how many thousands of games played. I focus strongly on working the count and driving up the pitch count of the CPU pitchers. However, before this year, I rarely was ever to take many walks. If I got two a game, that was a big win. Sometimes, I'd go a week without taking one, because once the CPU pitchers got to three balls, then everything else was in the strike zone.