Home
World Tour Soccer 2006 REVIEW

World Tour Soccer 2006 Review (PS2)

OVERVIEW
For the better part of the last year, my good name has been has been sullied by a small band of European (and Canadian) OS Forum posters that, let’s just say, strongly disagreed with my last review of a soccer title. Apparently, not only do I know absolutely nothing about their beloved “football”, but I may or may not do inappropriate things with small woodland creatures. Needless to say, you can imagine my excitement when World Tour Soccer 2006 found its way to my PS2. But I’m a professional. I don’t need to know all of the Premiership teams to know a good sports game. Frankly, I don’t need to know the difference between David Beckham and David Spade.

So, if you’re expecting 1500 words on the finer points of soccer strategies or my assessment on how accurately they rendered the midfielder from Chelsea, take your ball and go home. However, if you want to know if I enjoyed playing World Tour Soccer 2006, then please read on.

GAMEPLAY
Let me start with what definitely impressed me more than anything about World Tour Soccer 2006. This game is simply chock full of modes and features. From simple Exhibition Mode to various Competitions, all the way up to the overall solid and somewhat robust Career Mode, there is a mode or for whatever type of match you are looking for. With that, you’ll also find multiple levels of editing capabilities, including editing lineups, formations, and player roles.

If you open up the manual and look at the Game Controls table, your first instinct may be to just close it up and call it a day. At first glance, the controls appear to be complicated. Fortunately, the natural configuration and flow of the PS2 controller makes controls very intuitive and far less daunting in application than on paper. Trust me, you’ll be making all of the necessary moves, passes, and on the fly adjustments in no time.