You make the call!

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • braves_94
    Rookie
    • Jul 2013
    • 275

    #31
    Re: You make the call!

    Originally posted by HozAndMoose
    This seems to be the correct answer. Its what i got when i asked other places. It would be nice to get an answer form some of these baseball writers or ESPN analysts but apparently they are to busy to reply.
    Coverage includes audio and video clips, interviews, statistics, schedules and exclusive stories.


    Top of page 64, under rule 7.05:

    If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even
    though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base



    Rule 7.10(b) used on this thread is not applied to the correct situation here. Note it says, "When the ball is dead." What it refers to is once a ball has been ruled dead, through an overthrow, home run, ground rule double, or ect, once a runner misses a base and occupies another, he cannot go back. This doesn't address when the ball is deemed live. So if you miss second on your home run trot, and you hit third, you're SOL if the opposing team appeals.

    Comment

    • HozAndMoose
      MVP
      • Mar 2013
      • 3614

      #32
      Re: You make the call!

      Originally posted by braves_94
      http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y20...ball_rules.pdf

      Top of page 64, under rule 7.05:

      If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even
      though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base



      Rule 7.10(b) used on this thread is not applied to the correct situation here. Note it says, "When the ball is dead." What it refers to is once a ball has been ruled dead, through an overthrow, home run, ground rule double, or ect, once a runner misses a base and occupies another, he cannot go back. This doesn't address when the ball is deemed live. So if you miss second on your home run trot, and you hit third, you're SOL if the opposing team appeals.
      Yes he has to retouch his original base. But he is still given 3rd. Him having to go back doesnt change the final outcome.

      Comment

      • stantheman08
        Rookie
        • Jul 2014
        • 6

        #33
        Re: You make the call!

        the game probably let you score because you had passed second and so it awarded two bases from there

        it should have put you at third with 2 out

        Comment

        • kehlis
          Moderator
          • Jul 2008
          • 27738

          #34
          Re: You make the call!

          Originally posted by braves_94
          http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/downloads/y20...ball_rules.pdf

          Top of page 64, under rule 7.05:

          If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even
          though, because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball is dead and the award is then made from his original base



          Rule 7.10(b) used on this thread is not applied to the correct situation here. Note it says, "When the ball is dead." What it refers to is once a ball has been ruled dead, through an overthrow, home run, ground rule double, or ect, once a runner misses a base and occupies another, he cannot go back. This doesn't address when the ball is deemed live. So if you miss second on your home run trot, and you hit third, you're SOL if the opposing team appeals.

          I still don't have any idea why you keep bringing up a runner missing a base.

          Comment

          • Padgoi
            Banned
            • Oct 2008
            • 1873

            #35
            Re: You make the call!

            There is no way the runner is out. If the runner would be out, every single outfielder trying to double off a runner at first would just throw the ball into the stands.

            Comment

            • braves_94
              Rookie
              • Jul 2013
              • 275

              #36
              Re: You make the call!

              Originally posted by kehlis
              I still don't have any idea why you keep bringing up a runner missing a base.
              I WAS SIMPLY STATING WHY A PREVIOUS MENTIONED RULE IN THIS THREAD HAD NO EFFECT ON THE RULING OF THE PLAY. AND AS FAR AS A MISSED BASE, YES IT'S CONSIDERED TO BE A MISSED BASE IF THE RUNNER DOESN'T TOUCH FIRST BEFORE ADVANCING ON A POP FLY IF HE WAS OFF THE BAG AT TIME OF THE CATCH.

              Does that answer your question?

              Comment

              • tessl
                All Star
                • Apr 2007
                • 5661

                #37
                Re: You make the call!

                Originally posted by kehlis
                Position of the runner is irrelevant since he is technically on first base regardless of where he physically stands due to leaving early.

                Once the ball was thrown out of play before he had a fair chance to retreat to first he gets two bases from the base he owns which at the time is first base.
                I'd like to see where you get that from. This is what I'm basing my decision on.

                g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made;
                APPROVED RULING: If all runners, including the batter-runner, have advanced at least one base when an infielder makes a wild throw on the first play after the pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the wild throw was made.




                What am I missing?

                Comment

                • kehlis
                  Moderator
                  • Jul 2008
                  • 27738

                  #38
                  Re: You make the call!

                  Originally posted by tessl
                  I'd like to see where you get that from. This is what I'm basing my decision on.

                  g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made;
                  APPROVED RULING: If all runners, including the batter-runner, have advanced at least one base when an infielder makes a wild throw on the first play after the pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the wild throw was made.




                  What am I missing?

                  You're missing that the runner never advanced.

                  He ran to third early and thus is still on first regardless of where he physically is.

                  In order to "advance" you have to reach legally.

                  Comment

                  • Heroesandvillains
                    MVP
                    • May 2009
                    • 5974

                    #39
                    Re: You make the call!

                    Originally posted by tessl
                    I'd like to see where you get that from. This is what I'm basing my decision on.

                    g) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds into the field), or over or under or through a field fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead. When such wild throw is the first play by an infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases, shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the umpire shall be governed by the position of the runners at the time the wild throw was made;
                    APPROVED RULING: If all runners, including the batter-runner, have advanced at least one base when an infielder makes a wild throw on the first play after the pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the wild throw was made.




                    What am I missing?
                    The baserunner never owned second base in this scenario.

                    I can't believe over 4 pages over discussion has happened here and people still aren't understanding that part.

                    Comment

                    • kehlis
                      Moderator
                      • Jul 2008
                      • 27738

                      #40
                      Re: You make the call!

                      Originally posted by Heroesandvillains
                      The baserunner never owned second base in this scenario.



                      I can't believe over 4 pages over discussion has happened here and people still aren't understanding that part.

                      Eh, someone could ask how to score a groundout to second and it would incite discussion.

                      I love a good rules question so I'm all for discussion but I have no idea how some of the things were ever brought into this discussion lol.

                      Comment

                      • ManiacMatt1782
                        Who? Giroux!
                        • Jul 2006
                        • 3982

                        #41
                        Re: You make the call!

                        Originally posted by braves_94
                        I WAS SIMPLY STATING WHY A PREVIOUS MENTIONED RULE IN THIS THREAD HAD NO EFFECT ON THE RULING OF THE PLAY. AND AS FAR AS A MISSED BASE, YES IT'S CONSIDERED TO BE A MISSED BASE IF THE RUNNER DOESN'T TOUCH FIRST BEFORE ADVANCING ON A POP FLY IF HE WAS OFF THE BAG AT TIME OF THE CATCH.

                        Does that answer your question?
                        And yet your own post regarding flyballs tells you exactly why. Also on a flyball, if you pass 2nd, and go on to tird, but a catch is made, you may return to 1st but you must touch 2nd on your way back, in the event of a flyball out you may return and touch the base under a dead ball.
                        www.twitch.tv/maniacmatt1228
                        www.youtube.com/maniacmatt1782

                        Comment

                        • tessl
                          All Star
                          • Apr 2007
                          • 5661

                          #42
                          Re: You make the call!

                          Originally posted by Heroesandvillains
                          The baserunner never owned second base in this scenario.

                          I can't believe over 4 pages over discussion has happened here and people still aren't understanding that part.
                          I misread the op and didn't realize the batter was out.

                          Comment

                          • Mrmagoo
                            Pro
                            • Apr 2014
                            • 669

                            #43
                            Re: You make the call!

                            I'm still trying to find the damn popcorn...

                            Comment

                            • fullmetal2405
                              Rookie
                              • Jul 2007
                              • 406

                              #44
                              Re: You make the call!

                              Originally posted by braves_94
                              I WAS SIMPLY STATING WHY A PREVIOUS MENTIONED RULE IN THIS THREAD HAD NO EFFECT ON THE RULING OF THE PLAY. AND AS FAR AS A MISSED BASE, YES IT'S CONSIDERED TO BE A MISSED BASE IF THE RUNNER DOESN'T TOUCH FIRST BEFORE ADVANCING ON A POP FLY IF HE WAS OFF THE BAG AT TIME OF THE CATCH.

                              Does that answer your question?
                              Not a missed base. The runner legally owned first. you can't "miss" a base you already own. A missed base is just that. MISSED. As in the runner generally has to physically miss the bag while rounding it.

                              There were exactly zero missed bases in this play. Batter out - fly out. Runner awarded third - two bases on ball out of play (again, the runner legally owned first and he is awarded two bases from the base legally owned at the time the pitch was thrown). In real life he would be required to go back to first while the ball is dead, stepping on second along the way, then returning to third, again stepping on second on the way. Should he not step on second either going from third to first or vice versa, THAT is a missed base and the fielding team can appeal and get the runner out. In the context of The Show, that running back and forth would not happen. Therefore no missed bases. Runner should have been awarded third.
                              Last edited by fullmetal2405; 07-24-2014, 01:22 PM.

                              Comment

                              • Godgers12
                                MVP
                                • Dec 2012
                                • 2265

                                #45
                                Re: You make the call!

                                Something strange happened in my game last night. Rangers were trying to bunt a player over to 3rd, Leonys Martin was at the plate, he squares around as if to bunt, I threw a changeup low, and he pulls the bat back as he's in the process of pulling it back, the pitch hits him in the arm. However, instead of being awarded 1st on a HBP, the play is ruled a foul, next pitch I struck him out.

                                So, why wasn't it a HBP, is there some rule I'm overlooking, or a glitch within the game? Made me scratch my head a bit.
                                Last edited by Godgers12; 07-24-2014, 01:34 PM.
                                Green Bay PackersSeattle MarinersNew York Rangers
                                Syracuse Orange

                                If walls could talk to spill the lies, we'd see the world through devils eyes
                                -M. Shadows

                                Comment

                                Working...