Rule Guru's, have a question.

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • skitch
    Fear Ameer
    • Oct 2002
    • 12349

    #16
    Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

    The run doesn't count.

    eh... I guess Brandon beat me to it, lol.

    Comment

    • GBrushTWood
      Banned
      • Mar 2003
      • 1624

      #17
      Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

      Right, the run doesn't count because it is a force on both 2nd and 1st base.

      However, if the ball was hit to the first baseman, he tagged first base, THEN threw to second, AND the runner crossed homeplate before the tag was applied at second base, then the run would count. It's all about where the force outs were applied, and when the runner crossed homeplate.

      Comment

      • Scottdau
        Banned
        • Feb 2003
        • 32580

        #18
        Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

        Originally posted by GBrushTWood
        Right, the run doesn't count because it is a force on both 2nd and 1st base.

        However, if the ball was hit to the first baseman, he tagged first base, THEN threw to second, AND the runner crossed homeplate before the tag was applied at second base, then the run would count. It's all about where the force outs were applied, and when the runner crossed homeplate.

        Yes that is correct, I love this site, everybody has a opinion! lol Yeah sorry Will, I thought I was right, but you had me doubting myself. It is all good.

        Comment

        • Scottdau
          Banned
          • Feb 2003
          • 32580

          #19
          Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

          Originally posted by TheMatrix31
          Well then, throw some egg on my face! I can't remember the force situation during the game I was at, I just remembered that to be the case. Hmm.
          Yeah they must have had soemthing then. Becasue they should have not won the game.

          Comment

          • snowmizer
            Rookie
            • Jul 2002
            • 388

            #20
            Re: Rule Guru's, have a question.

            Originally posted by GBrushTWood
            Right, the run doesn't count because it is a force on both 2nd and 1st base.

            However, if the ball was hit to the first baseman, he tagged first base, THEN threw to second, AND the runner crossed homeplate before the tag was applied at second base, then the run would count. It's all about where the force outs were applied, and when the runner crossed homeplate.
            Just to clarify even more specifically, there's no reason to worry about force "outs", plural. You're only worried about Out #3.

            If Out #3 is the result of any runner not legally acquiring the base he was forced to advance to, no runs score. (This can be the result of an appeal play, too, of course... example: 1 out, bases loaded, double to the gap in which the defense relays it home in time to retire the runner who started on first for Out #2. If the batter-runner missed first, the appeal would result in Out #3. Since he was forced to touch first, but never did so, the two runs he apparently drove in get wiped off the scoreboard.)

            Comment

            Working...