You make the call!

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • bukktown
    MVP
    • Jan 2007
    • 3257

    #1

    You make the call!

    An odd play just happened in a game and I have no idea what the rule book states but I'm sure somebody here knows.

    Situation- runner on first, 1 out, I'm batting

    I hit lazy fly ball to center, I think that there are 2 outs so I send my runner to 3rd. The CF catches it and throws it in to the cutoff man. At this point I realize my mistake and watch helplessly as the CPU completes the easy double play.....

    but wait! The cutoff man airmails the throw to the 1st baseman and the ball goes out of play.

    Now, you make the call! What was the result of this play according to the Show?
    I will make a multiple choice.

    A. The runner gets a free retreat to first base.
    B. The runner gets a free retreat to first base and is awarded 2nd base on the ball out of play.
    C. The runner is allowed to score.
    D. The double play is awarded to the fielding team. Inning over.

    Also, If anyone knows how this would be ruled in real life please share!
  • Padgoi
    Banned
    • Oct 2008
    • 1873

    #2
    Re: You make the call!

    Pretty sure it should be B.

    Comment

    • Mrmagoo
      Pro
      • Apr 2014
      • 669

      #3
      Re: You make the call!

      I would guess A. and my guess on what the show ruled would be B.

      Comment

      • xandere313
        Rookie
        • Apr 2013
        • 97

        #4
        Re: You make the call!

        He should get 3rd base, as a ball thrown into the stands awards two bases.

        Rule code 7.05

        Comment

        • Mrmagoo
          Pro
          • Apr 2014
          • 669

          #5
          Re: You make the call!

          Even if the runner leaves early and never makes it back to the base he was on before the over throw? If true that's a pretty dicked up rule in my opinion.

          Comment

          • xandere313
            Rookie
            • Apr 2013
            • 97

            #6
            Re: You make the call!

            A throw into the stands always gives the runner two base past the last base owned, so he legally held first he gets two base.

            Comment

            • HozAndMoose
              MVP
              • Mar 2013
              • 3614

              #7
              Re: You make the call!

              He was never tagged and the ball never got to 1st. He should get 3rd and thats fair. And im going to say the Show called it a double play.

              Comment

              • Mrmagoo
                Pro
                • Apr 2014
                • 669

                #8
                Re: You make the call!

                While I'm not saying that's wrong. But I would think when you leave a base early it is no longer owned and therefore the result of this play should be that the player is lucky to get the base back with the overthrow. Again I haven't looked it up and I'm not going to waste the time, I'm sure what you listed is correct, but still think it's a dicked up rule then

                Comment

                • bukktown
                  MVP
                  • Jan 2007
                  • 3257

                  #9
                  Re: You make the call!

                  I never even thought that the runner should be awarded 3rd. Interesting....

                  I was expecting A or B.

                  What actually happened was C.

                  Comment

                  • Mrmagoo
                    Pro
                    • Apr 2014
                    • 669

                    #10
                    Re: You make the call!

                    C.... That's even more dicked up... Lol.

                    Comment

                    • WaitTilNextYear
                      Go Cubs Go
                      • Mar 2013
                      • 16830

                      #11
                      Re: You make the call!

                      how about

                      E. runner is ejected, both benches are warned
                      Chicago Cubs | Chicago Bulls | Green Bay Packers | Michigan Wolverines

                      Comment

                      • braves_94
                        Rookie
                        • Jul 2013
                        • 275

                        #12
                        Re: You make the call!

                        Your last legal base obtained was first. If you were still on third, or between second and third, the umpire would direct you back to second base, then back to first touching each bag. Once touching first, you would have to again round second before taking third. Much like in a home run situation, failure to hit any base to or from can result in a protest throw by the pitcher once the ball is back in play. A similar situation occured in the link below.

                        Comment

                        • saucerset
                          Rookie
                          • Jul 2010
                          • 482

                          #13
                          Re: You make the call!

                          The batter is out according to rule 7.10(a)(b)(2)

                          7.10
                          Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when --
                          (a) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged;
                          Rule 7.10(a) Comment: “Retouch,” in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base.
                          (b) With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged.
                          APPROVED RULING: (1) No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored. (2) When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base

                          Comment

                          • MatrixTN
                            MVP
                            • Mar 2009
                            • 1857

                            #14
                            Re: You make the call!

                            Originally posted by saucerset
                            The batter is out according to rule 7.10(a)(b)(2)

                            7.10
                            Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when --
                            (a) After a fly ball is caught, he fails to retouch his original base before he or his original base is tagged;
                            Rule 7.10(a) Comment: “Retouch,” in this rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from a position in back of his base.
                            (b) With the ball in play, while advancing or returning to a base, he fails to touch each base in order before he, or a missed base, is tagged.
                            APPROVED RULING: (1) No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored. (2) When the ball is dead, no runner may return to touch a missed base or one he has left after he has advanced to and touched a base beyond the missed base
                            The question OP had was "where does the runner (from 1st) go?" and he should be at 3rd if I'm interpreting correctly.

                            Comment

                            • saucerset
                              Rookie
                              • Jul 2010
                              • 482

                              #15
                              Re: You make the call!

                              The runner from first didn't tag up. On his way back to 1rst after the ball was caught, the throw went into the stands. Therefore a dead ball. The runner is not allowed to go back to first. He is out.

                              Comment

                              Working...