Home

Zone Coverage Observation/Problem

This is a discussion on Zone Coverage Observation/Problem within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-09-2010, 10:11 AM   #1
MVP

OVR: 34
Zone Coverage Observation/Problem

I notice that zone coverage works best in the middle of the field...but you start having problems, the closer you get to the hashes.

I was puzzled why people where finding so much open space in zones where specific seams should have covered, or at least closed on.

I studied some replays and notice that on the wide side, the depths and angles are all fouled up..the zone defenders dont gain any width on their drops.

Basically, If I call a zone coverage with a wide field, I almost always have a blitz behind, to force a hot throw, and cover the gap with my FS..if they try to force the pass down the seams.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 08-09-2010, 10:50 AM   #2
DJ
Hall Of Fame

DJ's Arena

OVR: 47
Re: Zone Coverage Observation/Problem

Yeah, the zone coverage really leaves a lot to be desired. I've called Cover 3 on obvious pass situations and somehow the CPU still manages to complete passes over the top of my CB and Safety that are covering one side of the field.

I think what the issue is that the defensive players are giving up too much ground when they change direction (i.e. running forward and then moving to a backpedal). They will either go into a slipping motion or just come to a complete stop for a second before getting back in the play. That gives the CPU WR more than enough time to get open.
EA Sports PGA Tour (PS5)
PGA Tour 2K23 (PS5)
Super Mario Bros. Wonder (Switch)
Old 08-09-2010, 11:16 AM   #3
KG
Welcome Back

KG's Arena

OVR: 35