Home

I didn't want to admit it but, i don't know what i'm doing when picking plays.

This is a discussion on I didn't want to admit it but, i don't know what i'm doing when picking plays. within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 12-22-2010, 03:52 AM   #1
MVP

OVR: 22
I didn't want to admit it but, i don't know what i'm doing when picking plays.

Hi, this is pretty embarrassing to talk about, but bare with me.

First off, i love playing NCAA Football games, i started playing them with my dad when i was little, and went from there. I moved to the next generation console about 3 years ago, 3 years later, i still don't know what the hell i'm doing when i'm picking plays.

To make a long story short, i don't know how to read the defense, and i just pick any type of play and hope for the best. I find this extremely frustrating because i want to be the best, and i can't do that when i don't know what defense to run/offense to run.

How do i defend the run? How do i defend the pass? I usually run the 4-3 defense, but i've heard the 3-3-5 defense is good as well. I find all of this difficult, and it's ridiculous for a 18 year old like me to not know how to read the opponent defense.

Heres an example of what i do:

Opponent has the ball, i just pick any random defensive play and hope for the best. What's man defense good against? What's zone good against? What's the difference between quarters package and the dimes package and what's the difference between 4-3, 3-4.

I had NCAA 11 about 5 months ago, but i returned it. I'm getting it for Christmas and i want to know everything about playbooks and team styles like One back, Pro, Spread, Air Raid, Option, Run and Shoot, Multiple.