Home

How to come out on top of an excellent defense?

This is a discussion on How to come out on top of an excellent defense? within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 03-16-2012, 02:08 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
How to come out on top of an excellent defense?

I play in coach mode on my dynasties. The way I see it, road to glory is where my own "stick skills" should shine. When I am a coach, I act as a coach would and let my players shine (when they perform well that is).

So I am playing as Michigan in my first year. I think that the quarterback (Patterson) is probably modeled after Robinson in real life. God is he an excellent scrambler. Anyways, so I played Alabama in my first game (as I always do when I play as Michigan. I have turned it into my own little rivalry). My guys performed exceptionally well, yet still losing 50-52. I was still satisfied.

However, my blood pressure sky rocketed when I played Notre Dame just a few minutes ago. I felt I was calling all the right plays. However, Patterson, my QB would either throw it away in 200 milliseconds or run it instantaneously. He couldn't do otherwise because their offensive line was killing the hell out of him with blitzes on almost every play. I tried screens, slants, hooks, curls, EVERYTHING and I COULD NOT beat them. I could maybe get one or two yards at a time on the run.

Any tips from those who play on coach mode? In coach mode, where you only call the plays, is it possible to call all the right plays and still lose the hell out of a game? I just want to know if there is anything I can do. If not, I am going to be MURDERED in just about every conference game (especially Ohio State....oh god, not Ohio State....just shoot me now...)