You make the call!

Collapse

Recommended Videos

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • fullmetal2405
    Rookie
    • Jul 2007
    • 406

    #46
    Re: You make the call!

    Originally posted by Godgers12
    Something strange happened in my game last night. Rangers were trying to bunt a player over to 3rd, Leonys Martin was at the plate, he squares around as if to bunt, I threw a changeup low, and he pulls the bat back as he's in the process of pulling it back, the pitch hits him in the arm. However, instead of being awarded 1st on a HBP, the play is ruled a foul, next pitch I struck him out.

    So, why wasn't it a HBP, is there some rule I'm overlooking, or a glitch within the game? Made me scratch my head a bit.
    If the ball hits the batter while swinging it is in fact ruled a foul ball. Showing bunt is considered swinging. So it would be umpires judgement if he pulled the bunt back in time.

    Comment

    • braves_94
      Rookie
      • Jul 2013
      • 275

      #47
      Re: You make the call!

      We have the correct ruling. Quit with all the semantics. I get it, we're all rule experts here. Congrats to everyone. You all win.

      Comment

      • Bobhead
        Pro
        • Mar 2011
        • 4926

        #48
        Re: You make the call!

        Rule 7.05 in Official MLB Rulebook:

        If a runner is forced to return to a base after a catch, he must retouch his original base even though,
        because of some ground rule or other rule, he is awarded additional bases. He may retouch while the ball
        is dead and the award is then made from his original base.
        The runner would be awarded third base, 2 bases from his original base, at first.

        Comment

        • ManiacMatt1782
          Who? Giroux!
          • Jul 2006
          • 3982

          #49
          Re: You make the call!

          While we are on the Rules subject. On an errant pickoff throw into the stands, shouldn't the runner on 1st be awarded 3rd. In the show, they always only award 2nd. But I though a ball out of play was a 2 base awardance.
          www.twitch.tv/maniacmatt1228
          www.youtube.com/maniacmatt1782

          Comment

          • braves_94
            Rookie
            • Jul 2013
            • 275

            #50
            Re: You make the call!

            Originally posted by ManiacMatt1782
            While we are on the Rules subject. On an errant pickoff throw into the stands, shouldn't the runner on 1st be awarded 3rd. In the show, they always only award 2nd. But I though a ball out of play was a 2 base awardance.
            It's another tricky rule where the "rule experts" on here will butt heads. The true ruling is they can be awarded 2nd or 3rd on overthrows in pickoff plays. It all depends on rather or not the pitcher clears the rubber. So in the game a quick pickoff overthrow will result in one outcome, while an overthrow on the safe will result in another, I THINK. Oddly I THINK an overthrow from the safe pickoff will result in 2 bases. The thinking here is by stepping off, the pitcher becomes an infielder. Snap or quick pickoffs will result in one base because he doesn't step off the rubber. Thus he never becomes an infielder, and only one base is awarded.

            But this is only off the top of my head. I'm sure someone will take offense and say all pickoff moves have to clear the rubber. Anyways, someone with a little more time to look up "the official rules" can brief you with their take to which they will pass off as knowing purely off the top of their head, lmao.

            Comment

            • ManiacMatt1782
              Who? Giroux!
              • Jul 2006
              • 3982

              #51
              Re: You make the call!

              That doesn't make sense, Failure to step off before the pickoff would be a balk.
              www.twitch.tv/maniacmatt1228
              www.youtube.com/maniacmatt1782

              Comment

              • Bobhead
                Pro
                • Mar 2011
                • 4926

                #52
                Re: You make the call!

                Originally posted by ManiacMatt1782
                That doesn't make sense, Failure to step off before the pickoff would be a balk.
                Not quite. The pitcher has to step one foot toward the base. The other foot does not have to come off the rubber at all.

                Comment

                • braves_94
                  Rookie
                  • Jul 2013
                  • 275

                  #53
                  Re: You make the call!

                  Originally posted by ManiacMatt1782
                  That doesn't make sense, Failure to step off before the pickoff would be a balk.
                  Not exactly. When you think in terms of a southpaw pitcher, he doesn't step off before he makes a pickoff attempt. In these cases it's a judgement call on rather or not the pitcher's leg was more than halfway between home plate and first base.

                  For the righty, he can pivot quickly, step and throw. All he needs to do is step, as mentioned in the previous response. Pivot, step, throw. Pivot while at the same time throwing is a balk. No need to place the pivot foot behind the rubber.
                  Last edited by braves_94; 07-29-2014, 04:16 PM.

                  Comment

                  • saucerset
                    Rookie
                    • Jul 2010
                    • 482

                    #54
                    Re: You make the call!

                    If I remember correctly from scanning the rules on the previous 'you make the call', there was a separate rule for the pitcher alone. I do not know it off the top of my head (braves_94..lol). I always have to look stuff up.

                    Rule 7.05
                    (h) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher’s plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead;
                    Last edited by saucerset; 07-30-2014, 07:53 AM.

                    Comment

                    Working...