Home

Man Coverage Defense

This is a discussion on Man Coverage Defense within the Madden NFL Old Gen forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Madden NFL Football > Madden NFL Old Gen
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 09-25-2011, 10:01 AM   #1
Banned

OVR: 3
Man Coverage Defense

I am not going to say I am an expert at man coverage, but I have figured out a way to utilize my top cover corners. Sometimes there is some tweaking you must do in order to cover TEs and HBs. To start off with man coverage needs to be based off of what the Offense is running. Clearly. When the Offense has a 2 Wr 2 TE set run a Nickel Man. This will be the best option and it also will stop the run. In a 3 Wr set always run a Dime Man. When it is 4 Wr or more run the Dollar Man. Now you will have to make some adjustments according to the offense. This is what I do. I hit Y (triangle for PS3) then left on the D pad to show a fake blitz. You then choose the Safety closest to the line and Switch him from deep coverage to Man coverage on the RB. I sometimes choose the TE it just depends on the offensive play. You will have to be the judge. For 3 WR or more I make sure my D line is shifted in. ALWAYS. Do not change anything other than that. For 2 Wr I let the D Line stay as is. After all is said and done I take control of the Free Safety and play in deep coverage and cover the middle and deep threats.

Let me know if this helps with your man coverage. Ill try and explain any questions you have.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 09-25-2011, 10:10 AM   #2
Pro

Re: Man Coverage Defense

If u would do this on me I would run alot. The nickel corner would suck against the run because the FB or TE would have him covered. It all depends on who u play and how they play.
Old 09-25-2011, 10:12 AM   #3
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoonie05