Home

Shutdown the TE

This is a discussion on Shutdown the TE within the EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > EA Sports College Football and NCAA Football
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-31-2011, 07:54 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
Shutdown the TE

Okay, I'm in my first year of online dynasty on all american and I'm about to play a user game against a guy in the conference championship. He uses Georgia and his te, Orson Charles, gets 300 receiving yards a game....no joke!!! I have no idea how he's doing this. I checked his depth chart and he's in the te position, not a third or fourth slot receiver. Checked some of his game stats and the guy catches 81 and 68 yard passes consistently. All I can think of is that he's running him on a bunch of streak routes with a slot receiver opposite him doing the same. I run a 3-4 predator defense mostly in man coverage (Alabama). I'm not concerned about his wideouts b/c they aren't very fast and I'm pretty confident about handling the run. Any scheme to take this guy out of the game is welcomed. Thanks for looking, fellas.
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 08-31-2011, 08:13 PM   #2
Rookie

dawgpound 26's Arena

OVR: 1
Re: Shutdown the TE

First question, is he a fast TE?

It's pretty easy to run a Flag route with a fast TE while a slower LB is covering him. If the WR runs a hitch or in route to clear out the CB underneath him in man coverage it is open almost every time.

Another play he could be running is one of the verticals that has the TE running a seam route that is more like a hybrid b/w a streak and a drag route. If there are 2 safeties playing deep they will leave the TE open in the middle of the field.