Home

I'm Demoting Myself: An EHM Scouting Career

This is a discussion on I'm Demoting Myself: An EHM Scouting Career within the Hockey Dynasties forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Dynasty Headquarters > Hockey Dynasties
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 08-02-2015, 09:38 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 0
I'm Demoting Myself: An EHM Scouting Career

June 5th, 2040

After a career with two different organizations spanning from 2014 to 2040, I've hung up my general manager boots. No, there aren't actually boots a general manager wears. Actually, most general managers wear nice suits and ties. But I am Charlie Edward and as a moonlight general manager, my attire could have been underwear and socks for all anyone cared.

And those who would have cared would have been surprised to know I won several Stanley Cups as the general manager of the Buffalo Sabres wearing nothing more than gym shorts and various tank tops. The 2030's were good to me.

My career started with the Edmonton Oilers in 2014. With no prior experience, they just gave me the job. All I had to do was walk into the office and ask. I do have to give myself some credit though, that was a pretty proactive thing to do. I woke up one morning, decided I wanted to be a general manager, and made it happen. I guess it's true what they say: some people dream while others make things happen.

The Oilers job looked fun: take over a team that should be winning, but for some reason isn't. It was really easy to diagnose the problem: the team was comprised of a bunch of rookies learning from other similar rookies. Not to mention, the forwards lacked the puck moving defensemen needed to actually do what they were good at: which was use the puck and do pretty things. They couldn't do those pretty things without the puck actually in their possession. And the goaltending situation? Oh boy.