Home

Need tips for hitting

This is a discussion on Need tips for hitting within the MLB The Show forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Baseball > MLB The Show
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 01-09-2015, 12:25 AM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
Need tips for hitting

I'm relatively new to the game. But I have the worse judgment on pitches. I know baseball in real life. Any tips
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 01-09-2015, 08:41 AM   #2
Pro

@legendm0de's Arena

OVR: 9
Re: Need tips for hitting

It's worth a try, but it took me many years to learn how to hit comfortably without feeling handicapped. This approach should be worth a try, to see how much improvement you may instantly gain.

Change your settings to eliminate all visual aid displays while hitting. Turn off hot/cold zone, strike zone, specifically. If you can be comfortable enough, also turn off guess pitch. Guess pitch was my biggest aid to hitting looking back but that's also because I was 15, 16 with no knowledge of the game yet.

Anyhow, take this to your next game and see how much improvement you might feel about hitting. My little sister plays, and I rigged her like this and she's further ahead than I was but she also has more baseball experience than I had at 15 either.
Old 01-09-2015, 05:51 PM   #3
Rookie

bobloblah1980's Arena

OVR: 1

keep in mind as well that on the lower skill levels (vet and lower) the cpu pounds the strike zone relentlessly so you will see a lot of strikes, so IMO use these levels to recognize what the different pitches do and as you get better and go to allstar and higher , that's when you will really have to become selective and know the strike zone

I agree mostly with @legend except, until you get the "feel for it I would leave the strike zone up and pitch info for reference
Old 01-09-2015, 06:09 PM   #4
Expletive Deleted

Ghost Of The Year's Arena