Home

Team Philosophy: Coach Hiring

This is a discussion on Team Philosophy: Coach Hiring within the NFL Head Coach forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Football > Other Football Games > NFL Head Coach
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 10-01-2008, 12:22 PM   #1
Rookie

OVR: 2
Team Philosophy: Coach Hiring

I'm new to the game. Got a ton of questions, but I'll stick to just a few for starters...

When adjusting the philosophy for coach hiring, am I adjusting how much control I let other people have, or how much control my owner gives up? For example, when I set it to 'Give out no control', does that mean my coach has total control over coaching decisions, or that my owner has total control over coaching decisions?

Also, any way to adjust the staff in the first season? I'm a Bears fan, but the staff is awful, except for Lovie, who gets canned anyway when I create a coach. Or do all staff decisions wait until the playoffs in the first year?

Any adivice on the original playbook selection? I like balanced offenses, but they all seem weak in the selection screen. The only strong books seem to be pass happy. Should I stick with the default for player knowledge, or just go with the best book available?

Thanks!
Advertisements - Register to remove
Old 10-01-2008, 12:39 PM   #2
Rookie

Re: Team Philosophy: Coach Hiring

first off, do some coach now games to get a hang of coaching

then i would run a few "test" offseasons to get used to drafting, FAs, etc. and when in the draft, DO NOT use the sim feature to go to your next pick, the GM will usually make bad trades then.

for your real career, are you starting off in the preseason or offseason?