Home

NBA 2K22 - Tendencies - A better Realism - For Roster creators

This is a discussion on NBA 2K22 - Tendencies - A better Realism - For Roster creators within the NBA 2K Basketball Rosters forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball > NBA 2K Basketball Rosters
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 09-17-2021, 06:23 AM   #1
Rookie

Sheitan's Arena

OVR: 0
NBA 2K22 - Tendencies - A better Realism - For Roster creators

Hey guys, I have been working a lot on tendencies for the past 2 years, especially on the ATD roster and I would like to share with you my point of view. As I think it would be very useful for all of you, roster creators.

My job is to find out the frequency distribution for each in-game tendency, in order to improve the CPU decision making. I want to find the p25, p50 and p75.

p25 = percentile 25, 25% chance of occurence
p50 = percentile 50, the median, 50% chance of occurence
p75 = percentile 75, 75% chance of occurence

Why do we need this ? Because in statistics this is called a normal distribution. It represents very well real-life behavior, and here the CPU decision making.
By distributing tendencies values around the p25 and the p75 we are going to have smart players, with strenghts and weaknesses, as we see in NBA.
I want to avoid as much as possible extremes values (basically 0 or 99) because it leads to robotic decision.
Indeed with extremes values, the CPU won't have the possibility of choice, it will do the tendency as soon as he is in the situation to do so.

For instance, a player with a 99 stepback3 tendency will do a stepback3 as soon as the situation can trigger a stepback3.
This is dramatic in term of decision making where we want players to think, to choose, if the move is appropriate or not.