Home

Customer service/retail workers: Post your favorite angry customer stories!

This is a discussion on Customer service/retail workers: Post your favorite angry customer stories! within the OS Neighborhood forums.

Go Back   Operation Sports Forums > Other > OS Neighborhood
MLB The Show 24 Review: Another Solid Hit for the Series
New Star GP Review: Old-School Arcade Fun
Where Are Our College Basketball Video Game Rumors?

Old 10-29-2011, 02:06 PM   #1
MVP

bgeno's Arena

OVR: 18
Customer service/retail workers: Post your favorite angry customer stories!

I know there must be plenty of us in customer service and retail who have had the pleasure of dealing with an angry (whether reasonable or unreasonable) customer before. I had a good one last night at work:

I'm an assistant manager at a convenience store and I was finishing up some outside work last night when I noticed a red gasoline can sitting next to our kerosene pump. I've always been taught that kerosene MUST be pumped into a blue can (at my old store, we actually had to verify each and every can before we activated the pump) unless there is a state of emergency declared. So, upon seeing the can, I picked it up and moved it near our dumpster. If the wrong people see us allowing this, we could get in trouble, so I wasn't going to leave it there and chance it.

I set the can aside, came back inside, and began ringing up a customer. A lady walked in and demanded she get her money back for the kerosene she pre-paid for because someone "done stole her gas can." I said "Was it a red gasoline can next to the kerosene pump? OK, I set it aside, but I'll go get it for you as soon as I'm done with this customer." She demanded I retrieve her can right then and there because she needed to pump her kerosene. I replied "Actually, ma'am, we require kerosene to be pumped into a blue can, so I can't let you pump the kerosene. I will gladly refund your money though."

She was irate.